Mrs Peachtree

Is there a job where I can get paid to read?

The List June 16, 2008

Since I’m very busy procrastinating and not working on the take-home midterm exam that is due tomorrow at 11:55pm, I thought I’d come up with a list of the books I would like to read for the second Canadian Book Challenge. Unfortunately, I didn’t make it through the first challenge because I started so late and had too much school reading to do. My theme for the first challenge was Canadian Children’s Literature and since I now have many sad children’s books calling to me from the shelf I’m going to stick with that theme for the second challenge.

Here’s the list:

  • Before Green Gables by Budge Wilson
  • Darkwing by Kenneth Oppel
  • A Perfect Gentle Knight by Kit Pearson
  • The Secret World of Og by Pierre Berton
  • The Hockey Sweater by Roch Carrier
  • Stella Fairy of the Forest by Marie Louise Gay
  • Some of the Kinder Planets by Tim Wynne-Jones
  • Jacob Two Two Meets the Hooded Fang by Mordecai Richler
  • Owls in the Family by Farley Mowatt
  • The Paperbag Princess by Robert Munsch
  • An Earthly Knight by Janet McNaughton
  • The Singing Stone by O.R. Melling
  • Death Over Montreal by Geoffrey Bilson

Okay, so some of them may be crossing over into Young Adult fiction instead of staying in the Children’s fiction genre, but I think that they’ll all prove to be fantastic reads.

 

One Response to “The List”

  1. John Mutford Says:

    I’m pretty excited to see the Hockey Sweater and Jacob Two Two on your list. I love both of those.


Leave a Reply

